News:

• April 30, 2024, 07:39:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: WING PROFILE  (Read 1310 times)

Offline FLOYD CARTER

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
    • owner
WING PROFILE
« on: April 07, 2009, 03:31:29 PM »
It seems that, ever since the first Nobler, stunt designers have been hooked on swept-back leading edges.  I've flown both swept-back L.E. and "barn door" wings, and neither has what I would consider an advantage, or a disadvantage.

Certainly, straight wings are easier to build, especially if all ribs are exactly the same.

I'd like to know what I'm missing in the way of aircraft performance by using a perfectly straight wing, with no L.E. sweep (but tapered flaps) and no variation in rib thickness.

ps Have mercy.  I'm an electrical engineer, not an aero engineer.

Floyd
89 years, but still going (sort of)
AMA #796  SAM #188  LSF #020

Offline John Miller

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: WING PROFILE
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 04:27:44 PM »
You are right Floyd. There are a lot of good flying straight winged aircraft out there, I can think of at least 3 right now.

What the tapered, or swept leading edge offers is an advantage due to the effective diehydral that comes from swept leading edges.
Getting a line on life. AMA 1601

Offline Bob Reeves

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
    • Somethin'Xtra Inc.
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 04:29:53 PM »
They don't get bounced around by wind quite as much as straight wings do..

Offline Paul Smith

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2009, 04:43:57 PM »
A tapered wing has more of it's area inboard and hence, not as leverage applied to the centre from excess lift at the tips.

A tapered wing has more thickness and strength at the centre, where it's needed.

Lift is lost at the tips.  Smaller tips have less loss.

They figuered this stuff out in the 1930's and have built virtually all wings tapered since.

Paul Smith

Offline Matt Colan

• N-756355