News:

• May 02, 2024, 01:17:43 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Grass Circles and Trike Gear  (Read 1181 times)

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Grass Circles and Trike Gear
« on: November 18, 2010, 12:11:34 PM »
I'm an absolute beginner at this stunt stuff, although I have years of building and sport flying behind me.

Between family commitments and geography I can't make it to paved flying circles for anything but contests.  The field that I have to fly from is grass, and not terribly smooth at that.  My current plane is a taildragger, and trying a smooth takeoff is a real roll of the dice -- sometimes it works, sometimes I nose over and break a prop.  If I want to takeoff reliably I need to hold up elevator and pop off the ground quickly.  This is giving me some really bad reflexes when I fly off of a decent surface!

I'm thinking that the next plane I build should have trike gear -- I'm thinking that with a wheel right out in front I should have a much better chance at doing a 'real' takeoff on the field that I have, which means that I'll be able to practice all of the beginner pattern.

So my question is: Do you fly with trike gear, or have you?  Does trike gear seem to be a reasonable approach to take to solve my problem?  (an alternative is to fix the circle, which I can only do to a limited extent -- I can fill in the worst of the dips, but it'll always just be mowed weeds).
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Offline Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Grass Circles and Trike Gear
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2010, 01:16:59 PM »
Go to Delta Park.  The weird wind there will make you crash, but you can take off.
The Jive Combat Team
Making combat and stunt great again

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2010, 01:35:42 PM »