News:

• May 03, 2024, 03:50:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Multi function control of a scale CL model  (Read 659 times)

Offline EF

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Multi function control of a scale CL model
« on: July 17, 2007, 02:40:17 PM »
Hello everyone, new guy here, my first post on this site.
Used to fly stunt (basic level) some 30 years ago, then went into RC, later sport-scale RC, and now planning on getting back into CL and trying CL scale for the first time.

I studied the issue of multi function control for a CL model and amongst the various options available, learnt you can do it with direct servo control from an RC Tx, which leads me to a couple of questions:

I checked my old, not used anymore but fully operational, Airtronics Championship Series Tx and saw at the back of it a DSC (direct servo control) port.
So, next I checked the manual, and it said the port should be connected with a cable to the Rx switch harness charge plug.
Also, it says to switch the Rx on but not the Tx.
So I guess the ground and signal go through the lines? since the charge plug is only 2-pins.
Would it work with 60 ft lines or would their resistance be too great? am thinking of Brodak insulated lines for example.

One more question for all you experts who may be using such a system - how do you get around the Human Engineering issue?
I mean - having a switch or two added to a standard handle is one thing, but how do you operate a CL handle, and an RC Tx? do you hang it on a belt? and how do you operate it? it's tempting to have 6 channels this way, I just don't see how exactly to operate it...

I'm planning to start a model in a few months (need to finish off some other models first, but have started doing some homework on this subject), probably a Sig RYAN STA that I saw the kit shows can be built for CL, and thought throttle and flaps could be nice to operate.
Erez

Offline Clancy Arnold

• Admiral