News:

• April 27, 2024, 07:21:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Surface Prep for Monokote  (Read 1190 times)

Offline JHildreth

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Surface Prep for Monokote
« on: August 15, 2023, 08:59:19 PM »
I haven't used Monokote on an airplane in a number of years.  Back in my RC days I used is regularly and applied Balsarite as a surface prep to enhance adhesion.  Balsarite is no longer available so I am looking for a substitute.  I have searched both the internet and Stunt Hanger and found three possibilities;  Cover Grip by Deluxe Materials,  Mod Podge,  and Minwax Poly Crylic.  I have no experience with any of these products so I am looking for recommendations.  Thanks.

Joe

Offline Ken Culbertson

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Surface Prep for Monokote
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2023, 11:57:36 PM »
Joe, I do NOT recommend Mod Podge.  I used it on Endgame, and I am disappointed. It has a super adhesive quality, in my opinion better than Balsarite but it has some negatives that I was not expecting.  It has bubbled up in several places under the monokote and given the appearance of sharkskin. It may be that it needed to dry longer, or I waited too long.  Don't know.  I put on two coats a day apart and sanded glass smooth before applying the Monokote.  Crist is the one you need get with.  His planes look first class.  I think he puts it directly on the raw balsa.

I have also used Poly Crylic.  It helped fill the grain but not much on the adhesion.  My best results on wings have been raw balsa, lots of heat with a gun and rubbing with a cotton cloth while it is still too hot to touch.  Good luck, hope to see you at the field soon!

Ken
AMA 15382
If it is not broke you are not trying hard enough.
USAF 1968-1974 TAC

Offline Motorman

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2023, 09:40:05 AM »