News:

• May 05, 2024, 10:42:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Silk Wrinkles Driving Me Crazy  (Read 2822 times)

Offline Martin Gallant

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Silk Wrinkles Driving Me Crazy
« on: October 23, 2010, 01:11:54 PM »
Hello.  This is my first attempt at silk and dope finishing.
I am using 5mm Habotai from Dharma, and Randolph nitrate dope and thinner.

Silk was applied wet and was wrinkle-free after doping the perimeters and allowed to dry.
I did a good job prepping the wood, and I know the silk is not pulling free from the edges.

As soon as I put down the first coat of dope on the open structures, the fabric sagged on me.
I am now at 6 coats (Thinned roughly 50%) and have left the structure alone for 3 days.
The sags and wrinkles seem to be pulling out with time, but I'm not sure how to proceed.

Should I leave it alone and let it cure longer?
Would brushing the open structure with pure thinner help (I'm thinking this would reflow the dope solids)
Should I just keep adding more coats at 50% until these go away?  (I suspect it might just make it worse)

On my test piece a month ago, the fabric sagged the same way on the first coat, but pulled back nice and tight after 5-6 coats and letting it sit overnight.

What normally causes this to happen?
I'm thinking my first coat was a little too thick (not thinned down enough) and the sags are where heavy dope puddled under the fabric.

Thanks in advance guys.  I really like the appearance of these finishes and want to learn how to do it right.

Offline Paul Smith

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Silk Wrinkles Driving Me Crazy
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2010, 01:44:21 PM »
I do silk & dope all the time.

Just like you, expect I use butyrate dope.  It seems kind of sagged until I get up to 6 or 7 coats, then ti tightens OK.