News:

• May 23, 2024, 08:35:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Rustoleum  (Read 3724 times)

Offline James Holford

• 2020 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Rustoleum
« on: July 05, 2015, 08:38:51 AM »
Getting ready to head to home depot to check out the color selections for a couple builds.  Problem is a I've never used this stuff before.

I'm sure I will need to get primer for certain.

Other than Primer I have no idea which rustoleum to get... is there certain ones to stay away from? Is there a certain type to get? Would I need a clear coat as well?

Sorry but this is unfamiliar territory.
Jamie Holford
Baton Rouge Bi-Liners
Lafayette, La
AMA #1126767

Offline big ron

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
Re: Rustoleum
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2015, 11:34:00 AM »
Gloss protective enamel I have used white, yellow, black, and orange all good results with no clear. For primer I use NAPA DC540. I put 2 coats of butyrate dope on bare wood first. I let the dope dry a couple days before I put primer and let the rustoleum dry at least a week.
John Blanchard
Brusly, Louisiana
 AMA 1054488

Offline James Holford

• 2020 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2016, 05:26:08 AM »
Gloss protective enamel I have used white, yellow, black, and orange all good results with no clear. For primer I use NAPA DC540. I put 2 coats of butyrate dope on bare wood first. I let the dope dry a couple days before I put primer and let the rustoleum dry at least a week.

Thanks for the advice!   I jsut noticed that you are just down I-10 from me!
Jamie Holford
Baton Rouge Bi-Liners
Lafayette, La
AMA #1126767

Offline big ron

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2016, 05:58:18 AM »
I live across the river from Baton Rouge. We have a few fliers here we fly some in Baton Rouge off Florida Blvd. on Independence behind the water park. Would like to get you to fly with us some time.
John Blanchard
Brusly, Louisiana
 AMA 1054488