News:

• April 30, 2024, 10:28:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Panel lines  (Read 1887 times)

Offline bfrog

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Panel lines
« on: January 20, 2010, 06:55:16 PM »
I have never done panel lines before and would like to add some on a new plane I am building. I think I understand the basics but have two questions.

What is the best ink to use? India ink, permanent marker? I don't know.

If you are doing the lines on iron-on covering how do you preserve them? I don't know what kind of spray to overcoat them that will be flexible enough and sticky enough to stay on the covering. The plane will be electric powered so I don't have to worry about fuel proofing. There must be something.

Suggestions greatly appreciated.

Bob
Bob Frogner

Offline Shultzie

• Admiral
  • Don Shultz "1969 Nats Sting Ray"
Re: Panel lines
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2010, 08:35:41 PM »
I still FOREVER...prefer my old Rapid-O-Graph pens.....and a good Mylar India ink with that contains a little etching ingredient.
This way..if any lines that don't look quite right..can be easily removed with a little BON AMI polishing cleanser. "Tain't scratched yet!"

However I highly recommend the cleanser wash be used lightly over the entire panel that is to be painted...to remove any finger prints and impurities BEFORE starting the inking process.