News:

• April 30, 2024, 10:10:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: My experience with Silk & SLC  (Read 532 times)

Offline Tom Luciano

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
My experience with Silk & SLC
« on: March 18, 2012, 07:40:51 PM »
Gentlemen,
 I want to share my experience using SLC under Silk. First, and foremost, I absolutely love SLC! I covered a Gotcha with it and love the way it worked for me. Super light and unbelievably strong. This is not a thread to slam a product and I am not an expert finisher as some are here. I just want to inform everyone of a few mistakes I made along the way. First, I did not find the Silk to fill any faster using the SLC under it. That was my goal for using it in the first place. The frame work for my plane was a little heavier then I wanted, and I wanted to go with a traditional covering method and figured I would save some weight with multiple coats of clear.
  So here's what happend on my Killer shown below. The killer wing has only a 1/4" square leading edge with no sheeting. When I covered the wing with the SLC I had concerns of adhesion of the silk to the leading edge, being that the silk would only be attached to a piece of 1/4" stock covered with polyester. So now I'm thinking I'll just abrade a 1" perimeter along the leading edge, Fuselage since there is no sheeting there, and also the wing tips. Just to make sure the silk stayed put!