News:

• April 30, 2024, 05:14:42 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: ... Iron Paint...  (Read 1163 times)

Offline Bootlegger

• 22 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
... Iron Paint...
« on: June 22, 2012, 01:30:07 PM »

I think that it was Jack Sheek's that used this term for iron on coverings.
 I am totally in the dark with this type of covering, so I am askin what you fellow's like and why do you like it.
  I need brand names, availability, how to apply and any other info that I can get.

Thanks a lot...
8th Air Force Veteran
Gil Causey
AMA# 6964

Offline Steven Kientz

• Captain
Re: ... Iron Paint...
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2012, 02:33:34 PM »
   I'm fairly new to all of this ,but I've had success with both Monokote and Ultracote(oracover). I've also used Econokote on foam with no problems. I think Ultracote has a wider range as far as heat when applying(start fairly low, higher each time you tighten it). Monokote seems to stick to itself better(when doing trim schemes).
   I haven't tried any of the Coverite film, tissue or fabric.
   You might build a small wing section to practice on as far as how much heat and how to do wingtips.

Hope this helps
Steve
Steve Kientz
AMA 855912

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2012, 02:48:13 PM »
It's a lot quicker to do a sorta-good job with iron-on.  No matter what you use, doing a truly superb job is going to take lots of time, and I suspect that the iron-ons are a lot less reparable if you're trying to keep the finish superb.

But since I'm still in the "crashes a lot" phase, iron-on is for me.
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Offline Steven Kientz

• Captain
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2012, 03:00:44 PM »