News:

• April 26, 2024, 06:52:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Untwisting The Flying Lines?  (Read 1459 times)

Offline Kafin Noe’man

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Untwisting The Flying Lines?
« on: March 26, 2023, 07:38:42 PM »
Hi I’ve just lost another flying lines in the middle of a flight. The Banshee kept making like 4 or 5 inside loops when I finally realized that one of the lines had been broken. Luckily the plane is still intact.

The lines had few kinks prior take off, mostly caused by dragging accross of the grass field (I fly solo most of the time) and probably because of my untwisting method when landed. Often times, instead of untwisting it, I accidently twisting it even more. I know the stunt schedule is designed for you to not have any twist of lines at the end of the flight.  But, at this stage, when I’m still learning to do wingover, inside loops and lazy 8, it’s expected to have twists at the end of the flight due to uneven inside and outside loops performed.

So the questions are:
1. Any tips to save the lines for solo flyer like myself?
2. What’s the right way to untwisting the lines when landed? What direction? How many turn for every 1 loop made?

Looking forward to learning more from you!

Best,
Kafin
INA 1630
I fly: Vector, Cardinal, XEBEC, and Banshee

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Untwisting The Flying Lines?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2023, 08:36:22 PM »
First: congratulations on your save.  If you can keep cool the next time this happens, if you step toward the plane at the bottom of each loop that'll slacken the lines a bit and make the turn more shallow.  Then step away at the top of the loop, which will make the turn sharper.  The end result will be an airplane that at least doesn't hit the ground with the engine running.