News:

• April 30, 2024, 04:33:54 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Troubleshooting: Smaller Outside than Inside Loops  (Read 510 times)

Offline Brendan Eberenz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Troubleshooting: Smaller Outside than Inside Loops
« on: April 11, 2024, 04:06:07 PM »
I am a novice flyer that is just getting the Beginner Pattern down. I fly a flapped Magician on 60 ft lines with an electric setup. My inside loops are bigger than textbook, but my outsides are super tight and probably smaller than rulebook specifications. It is incredibly noticeable as I do horizontal eights. The plane flies level and there is equal throw in the elevator. I have tried to knowingly ease up on the outside loops to make them bigger, but they are still very tight. Is there something mechanically to explain my issues or is it just psychologically my brain telling my hand to crank down on the outsides? I guess I could have my more experienced son fly it and see if the loops equalize for him, but I thought I would throw it out to the crowd for commentary. Thanks.

Offline Dan Berry

• Admiral
Re: Troubleshooting: Smaller Outside than Inside Loops
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2024, 04:17:28 PM »
Pushrod length is where I would look first
Shortening it is probably the ticket

Offline Dan McEntee

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2024, 05:18:47 PM »
   Double check your thrust alignment to the wing first, and then to the stabilizer. I have several airplanes that I adjust the line spacing where the down line is closer to the center of the handle than the up line. You need a handle that allows that. You may let some one else fly the airplane and see how it performs for them to make sure it isn't something you are doing.
  Type at you later,
   Dan McEntee
AMA 28784
EAA  1038824
AMA 480405 (American Motorcyclist Association)

Offline Dave_Trible

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2024, 05:53:19 PM »