News:

• May 05, 2024, 01:25:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Spray painting  (Read 876 times)

Offline Scott Hartford

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Spray painting
« on: November 23, 2012, 06:58:49 PM »
Someone asked me the other day about spray painting a door and I suggested he use a fat cap to get good coverage and he looked at me like a meatball in onion soup. I guess fat caps are not common knowledge...I have a friend who is a grafitti artist by profession (on canvas, not bridges and train cars...) and years ago showed me his selection of "caps" (spray nozzles for paint cans). Artist brushes come in many styles and so do caps. Sometimes just having an unclogged one can save the day. There are many to choose from and the "fat caps" work particularly well when you need good coverage with a wide spray pattern so you don't get stripes and can cover large surfaces quickly. Some of the bigger fat caps can empty a can very quickly! Here is a link to a good place to get them: http://www.grafcaps.com/    Just another tool you may need....

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Spray painting
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2012, 07:54:43 AM »
When it comes to doors and furniture, I still use a brush.   Spraying for me is doing the model planes in color and final clear coats.
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203
AMA 23530  Have fun as I have and I am still breaking a record.

Offline Avaiojet

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Just here for the fun of it also.
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2012, 08:03:29 AM »
Scott,

I've actually produced some 4' x 8' images of graffiti art from photos supplied by a customer. Never worked on walls because I never did what you would call Graffiti. The only walls I ever worked on had advertising or lettering and I was paid for it.   ;D

Here's one example done ages ago.