News:

• May 02, 2024, 05:55:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Skyloft  (Read 4700 times)

Offline Pat

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Skyloft
« on: March 09, 2013, 11:13:09 PM »
Hi all,

I saw on the dave brown site something called "Skyloft" that is touted as a replacement for silk span. Does anyone have any experiance with it? If so what did you think? I am always looking for new stuff to try. Thanks!

Pat

Online Kermit Payne

• 24 supporter
  • Ensign
Re: Skyloft
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 12:59:15 PM »
Pat,

I have been using Skyloft for about 30 years.  Held up to the light it looks like spun nylon, is as light as silkspan, and tougher than nails.  It is virtually untearable (well, if you try hard enough you can tear anything but this stuff is tough.)  I apply and finish it the same way as silkspan, too.

Hope this helps!

Kermit

Offline Pat

• Commander
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2013, 02:11:02 PM »
Thank you Kermit!

I believe I will give some a try.

Pat

Offline Bart Klapinski

• Lieutenant
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2013, 02:39:00 PM »
Does any one know what Skyloft is actually made of?

Tempest

Online Paul Taylor

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
  • If God is your Co-pilot - swap seats!
    • Our Local CL Web Page
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2013, 02:44:31 PM »
How does it apply?
Same as Silkspan?
Paul
AMA 842917

Tight Lines = Fun Times

Offline Steve Helmick

• AMA Member and supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2013, 07:00:51 PM »
Does any one know what Skyloft is actually made of?

Tempest

I've not used Skyloft, but know some folks who have, and liked it. The following is copied/pasted from the Dave Brown Products website. Since it's nylon, I would expect it would not absorb water, so you wouldn't "cover wet", and like PolySpan, you wouldn't want to sand into the fabric, lest you get some sort of "fuzzies".