News:

• April 27, 2024, 11:56:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Ship wants to fly at 10ft how to lower  (Read 4756 times)

Offline Dennis Toth

• 2020 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Ship wants to fly at 10ft how to lower
« on: January 25, 2009, 09:40:19 AM »
Guys,

I've been working with my electric profile for about two months and all the normal trim bugs seemed to be worked out. One last issue is that the ship wants to settle in at 10' for level flight both upright and inverted. The CG is located at the 22% average cord point. I can fly it at 6' but I have to push it down there. Question for the group is there a trim change that I can make that will move the grove down without opening up the maneuvers?

Best,     Dennis

Online Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Ship wants to fly at 10ft how to lower
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 10:39:51 AM »
I think Ty's correct.  When this happens with my plane, it's because the down line is a tad too long.  The plane is already adjusted for incidence and thrust line.  So adjust the plane, then adjust the handle. 
The Jive Combat Team
Making combat and stunt great again

Offline Matt Colan

• N-756355
  • AMA Member
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2009, 11:05:56 AM »
Along with what Ty and Howard said, that could do it.  Also your neutral could be off at the handle.

Matt Colan

Alan Hahn

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2009, 11:36:19 AM »
Maybe it is nervous about the ground!  ~^

It is odd that it is high both upright and inverted.   Only thing which would affect upright and inverted the same way is that it needs more tip weight and that the outboard wing is high. Trying to think if that would make it want to fly high. Not sure about that.

Online Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2009, 11:50:19 AM »
I'm sorry.  I missed the part about both upright and inverted.  Disregard what I wrote above.
The Jive Combat Team