News:

• May 02, 2024, 08:40:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Oldest active flier...if you dare to self-identity.  (Read 1982 times)

Offline 944_Jim

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Oldest active flier...if you dare to self-identity.
« on: August 14, 2021, 06:24:29 PM »
I'm curious, Gents. As I close in on 60 yo (a bit off, but not by much), and as a recent returnee to the hobby, I wonder how long will I be able to keep on spinning? I'm no pro pilot by any stretch (still roundie-roundie, upsies-downsies), but I have to wonder as I have no desire to saddle my offspring with the toys.

You can say " I know a guy..." But please tell me the truth. Is anyone active after 75 yo, 80 yo?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Larry Fruits

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
Re: Oldest active flier...if you dare to self-identity.
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2021, 06:44:05 PM »
  Wesley Dick is 89 and still files a competitive pattern. He is a joy to be with and watch him fly. Hope I can still fly when I reach Wes' age, I'm 73 now, let alone be competitive like him. Amazing. So hang in there, you have many years left to enjoy the hobby...

Blessings;
   Larry

Offline Craig Beswick

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2021, 06:44:42 PM »
I am one of the younger at my club, just turned 61. I guess this may be a, "I know a guy situation".

Our oldest pilot is 86 and he would fly 4 to 6 times per year.

We have two guys, still competing at advanced level, who are 72 and 76.

The president is 76 and puts up a number of sports flights twice a week. We are on 2 x grass circles and he cuts the grass nearly every week! A few others in their 70's+ still flying comfotably every week.

It is simple really. It comes down to your physical ability and desire. I could hardly take a step, without some aide 2 years ago. 2 new knee replacements and boom trying to learn the full pattern.