News:

• May 14, 2024, 04:19:37 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: It Is A Small World!  (Read 665 times)

Offline Les McDonald

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
  • " The Jelly Man"
It Is A Small World!
« on: January 15, 2024, 02:09:47 PM »
In my world at home very few people know about my aeromodelling past, all they know is that I worked in the hobby industry.
I'm pretty sure most of my motorcycle friends know a good bit of the story but I think that's because my very close friend Rod  has told them that I really don't like to talk about it. I'm very proud of that history but only you guys know what it takes and I'm so tired of hearing about somebody's Cox PT-19 or even their neighbors RC B-25.
Around home I hang out with some folks from the neighborhood at a couple of sports bars and the local VFW.
This past Saturday night one of our friends brought along some people that were visiting for the weekend. They live near St Louis and as we talked I mentioned Buder Park, more as a geographical thing. The lady, Barb, said her Dad flew control line planes at Buder Park and was really surprised when I mentioned it. I told her that I had been there and then asked what her father's name was and she said Walter Brownell. When I told her that I knew of him I thought she and her husband were going to faint. I admitted that I couldn't recall ever actually meeting him but I was familiar with most of the Buder Park gang. She told me that Fred Cronewett and all the other guys were so helpful when her Dad passed away and then showed me a photo of Walt's crypt with all his planes on it. Of course the question came up about why I was at Buder Park so I gave her a brief rundown of my travels.