News:

• April 26, 2024, 09:47:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 31 yo Stiletto 660. Impossible to fly level......  (Read 1688 times)

Online Paul Van Dort

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
31 yo Stiletto 660. Impossible to fly level......
« on: September 16, 2022, 12:29:25 PM »
I took out my Stiletto 660 that I build in 1991. Tomorrow there is a classic contest in my club for pre 1980 designs.
Good ST46 power. Engine run is decent. C.G. is in the ball parc, leadout position is ok, controls appear friction free...
Wings and flaps are straigth. Flaps and elevator both neutral simultaneously.. Tipweigth is fine. So bench trimming was fine.

One problem. I cannot control the thing in level flight. Going up and down. No grooving whatsoever.  Flying at shoulder height is too risky.
I have been flying F2B since 1990, but I cannot understand what is happening. This model used to fly decently (25 yeas ago) .
This evening I have oiled the Bellcrank pivot. Perhaps there was friction under linetension. The old bearing ... Who knows.
Tomorrow back to the flying field for testing and the contest....
I will keep you posted. Hints are very welcome!!

Offline EricV

• Lieutenant
Re: 31 yo Stiletto 660. Impossible to fly level......
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2022, 01:05:25 PM »
Assuming a warp didn't creep in somewhere, then check the controls for drag "under load" so do it with the plane hanging from your fingertips holding the leadouts.
Next I'd check for a thrust alignment of the ST46, since you just installed that, make sure it is level or at least down and to the right, heh.
Hope it goes well in time for your event.
EricV

Offline bill bischoff

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2022, 01:19:31 PM »
Have you checked the CG recently? In the southwestern US, airplanes that have been dormant for a while have been known to pick up unwanted tail weight in the form of mud dauber or other insect nests inside the aft fuselage.  >:(