News:

• April 30, 2024, 08:57:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Jim Tichy - Designer of the "Colossus".  (Read 8001 times)

Offline De Hill

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Jim Tichy - Designer of the "Colossus".
« on: March 26, 2013, 07:28:33 PM »
I first met Jim Tichy at Naha  Air Base Okinawa in January of 1963. We were both in the USAF. He was a jet engine mechanic, and I was an autopilot/ compass systems technician. Naha had a base hobby shop building with an inside area with workbenches and lockers to build  airplanes and store our supplies and tools. The hobby shop sold airplane supplies, and would order anything you needed.

Jim had brought a well worn Fox .35 to Okinawa, built a Midwest Magician, painted it light green, and proceeded to practice... a lot. I think that Jim had lived around Detroit when he was a young teenager. He mentioned seeing Bill Werwage fly up there.

We had a club on base called the "Aerial Habus". ( the flying snakes)  In May or June of 1963 all of the Aerial Habus got to go TDY (temporary duty) to Tachikawa Japan for the All PACAF Far East Championships.  We flew up there on a C-130, and Jim won first place in stunt with his Magician. Jim was already an extremely good stunt flyer.