News:

• May 02, 2024, 08:48:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: ADVENTURES IN MISS-APPLIED COMPONENTS  (Read 2553 times)

Offline Dennis Adamisin

• 2019 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
ADVENTURES IN MISS-APPLIED COMPONENTS
« on: June 25, 2009, 09:30:06 AM »
Good Judgment comes from experience.  Experience comes from bad judgments!

OK, I am not ready to claim "expert" status, however on my journey to "goo roo" I have made, uh, some "experience enhancing discoveries" on how NOT to e-fly!  As an engineer I am not satisfied in knowing "how" I want to learn as much as I can about the "why" our various e-setups work the way they do.  Unfortunately some hardware got sacrificed along the way.  Hope that I could share these, as well as encourage others to fess-up, so we might all learn a smidgen more.

MOTOR SIZES
Jack Sheeks Classic "Swinger" swept wing design is prone to build nose heavy, as I discovered when I build mine.  Indeed, I cannot comprehend how Jack managed to get his to balance with the muffled Enya 35 he used.  Because my bird also finished a little heavier than I wanted, I tried nose-lighteners rather than adding tailweight.  I downsized the battery, pushed it as far aft as I could and still could not hit the balance point I needed.  Next step was to downsize the motor - from the Rimfire 35-36 (3.6oz) to a 35-30 (about 2.5oz) It worked too - sorta.  I was flying along, happy as a clam cuz the bird was really showing its potential - up to the 4-leaf clover.  I did the first loop then I heard a screetchy sound followed by a free wheeling propellor that was not producing any thrust.  Did not actually SEE a puff of smoke, but the CSI revealed what could best be described as a smoked out motor!