News:

• May 22, 2024, 08:58:19 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Should I use old McCoy engines?  (Read 5136 times)

Offline frank mccune

• AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Should I use old McCoy engines?
« on: January 14, 2015, 10:43:38 AM »
     Hi All:

I dug out a couple of old McCoy engines today and I am wondering if they would be good to use for sport flying.

I have a new .19 and a .29 rear intake Sportsman that I could break in and mount in a ready built airplane.  Both of these engines have two rings on the piston and seem to have good compression.  Would these engines start and run well or am I in for many disappointments?

I have a few Sterling Ring Master and P-51 Mustang kits that I could use if I wished to build.  I also have a new Flite Streak that I could build.  Perhaps the .19 would be a good fit for the Sterling Mustang  The Flite Streak would work well with the .29.

Thoughts or comments?

Tia,

Frank McCune

Online Dave_Trible

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Should I use old McCoy engines?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 11:48:59 AM »
Frank if they are new and in good shape I'd run 'em.  These early Macs were well made engines built by or under the watch of Dick McCoy.  The second generation of Red Heads is where the cart got ahead of the horse some (mostly the slant or offset plug .35 and later Custom). They really aren't worth much as collectors items so yeah... Run them after a careful breakin and use plenty of oil in the fuel like a Fox.  Should make fun sport engines.

Dave
AMA 20934
FAA Certificate FA3ATY4T94

Offline Terry Caron

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2015, 12:07:21 PM »
Frank, while there are many on the forum who seem to abhor old engines and will recommend only OS .20/.25 FPs and such- fine engines no doubt- for older .35-size models, your McCoys will do as well as they did in the '50s/'60s.