News:

• May 05, 2024, 07:50:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Ringmaster Fuel Tank?  (Read 1865 times)

Offline Joe Messinger

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Ringmaster Fuel Tank?
« on: August 15, 2006, 07:55:09 AM »
I have a couple Ringmasters that I fly occasionally just for fun but haven't yet found a fuel tank that is satisfactory.

The space between the leading edge of the wing and the back side of the engine is so limited that most 3 oz. tanks I've tried barely fit.  The outlet is too close to the engine and causes the fuel line to bend almost shut.  I've tried clunk tanks with offset outlets but the fuel pick up line on these small tanks doesn't flex very much because it's so short.  The clunk just hangs there in the center of the tank.

I'm sure there's a  tank set up that works well as there are lots of Ringmasters out there flying around.  I just haven't found a tank that's suitable yet.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Joe
Joe Messinger

Offline Leester

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
Re: Ringmaster Fuel Tank?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2006, 12:01:40 PM »
I have an RSM Ringmaster and their 4oz tank fits just fine behind a Fox 35 or a Magnum 25.
Leester
ama 830538

Offline Joe Messinger

• Commander
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2006, 01:39:31 PM »
What's the distance from the L.E. to the back of the engine on your RSM Ringmaster?  That distance on Sterling Ringmasters is 3-1/4". 

The shortest 4 oz. tank in Brodak's inventory is 4".  Even in 3 oz. tanks, 3" (wide wedge) is the shortest.  Doesn't leave any room for the outlet tube and fuel line if you set it up on the venturi centerline.

I once had a 3 oz. tank that came with a Top Flite Flight Streak ARF.  On that tank, the outlet exits the tank then turns down 90*.  I can't find any of those tanks in the catalogs.  Maybe I can modify something.  Perhaps that will work?

Joe
Joe Messinger

Offline Jim Kraft

• Admiral
  • AMA78415