News:

• May 07, 2024, 05:10:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Ringed engine stuck with goo  (Read 1406 times)

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Ringed engine stuck with goo
« on: December 18, 2018, 11:09:54 AM »
I almost revived this thread, but it's about lapped engines stuck with goo, and I've never had a problem with those.

I've got a bunch of SuperTiger 46's and a couple of bigger ones that have been exceedingly well taken care of, but which have then sat for 20 years.  If they were ABC or OS-style engines I'd just hit them with heat or fuel or alcohol and go -- but I have no experience with ringed engines.  I'm worried that if I do that with these the last thing that'll get freed up will be the ring, and that the stuck ring will do damage to itself or the cylinder before it's freed up.

Am I right to be worried, or can I treat them exactly the same as I would an OS LA or FP engine?
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Online Brett Buck

• Admiral
Re: Ringed engine stuck with goo
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2018, 12:18:54 PM »

Am I right to be worried, or can I treat them exactly the same as I would an OS LA or FP engine?

More or less the same. The difficulty usually revolves around fishing the wrist pin out of the hole. I drill and tap the aluminum end plug for a 2-56 screw and thread that in and use it to pull on. But otherwise, mild heat, penetrating oil, etc.

Brett

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2018, 12:53:06 PM »
   More or less the same. The difficulty usually revolves around fishing the wrist pin out of the hole. I drill and tap the aluminum end plug for a 2-56 screw and thread that in and use it to pull on. But otherwise, mild heat, penetrating oil, etc.

Brett