Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: K&B 61  (Read 880 times)

Offline Tom Taylor

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
  • Welcome to the Stunt Hanger.
K&B 61
« on: July 10, 2008, 10:50:14 AM »
I finally started my K&B 61.  It started OK but when I went to open/close the needle valve, I discovered that it was completely closed. ??? When I went to open it, the motor started to lose rpm's.  It was turning about 7800 when completely closed.  I have an Enya needle valve installed.  I am not an engine expert, so any advise would be appreciated. H^^

Thanks,

Tom
Tom Taylor AMA 23014

Offline Jim Oliver

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: K&B 61
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 11:16:08 AM »
Tom,

Sounds like the NV isn't closing off all the way.  Try closing it as far as you can and then check to determine if you can blow a little air through the NVA.  I suspect that you will be able to; if so, you will probably need a different NVA.

The hole(s) in the spraybar also should be very near the center of the venturi, rather than nearer one side or the other.

Cheers,
Jim
Jim Oliver
AMA 18475

Offline don Burke

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 11:43:07 AM »
Sounds like the body of your NVA is too short for the width of the intake boss on the K&B.  The needle is probably bottoming out on the NVA body before the needle hits the seat.

Randy should be able to fix you up with the correct length NVA.

don Burke AMA 843
Menifee, CA

Offline phil c

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2008, 08:10:24 AM »
Both the Enya and OS needlevalves use a pressed in needle.  If you cant' get the needle valve to shut off(due to interference with the case) you can press or pull the needle out.  You can also get some metric drill rod from one of the machinery supply houses(Grainger, MSC, etc.) and make a new, longer needle to press into the knurled holder.