News:

• May 10, 2024, 07:01:30 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Fox 35 With Broken Muffler Ear  (Read 592 times)

Offline Harold Brewer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Fox 35 With Broken Muffler Ear
« on: September 28, 2018, 11:10:32 AM »
I have an L&J Fox 35 with a broken muffler ear.  This engine was made prior to the Fox anniversary engines.  I also have a 35th anniversay Fox with some time on it.  Will I have any issues trying to swap the cases on these engines?

regards,

Brew

H^^

Offline kenneth cook

• Admiral
Re: Fox 35 With Broken Muffler Ear
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2018, 08:14:54 PM »
            Harold, I have a lot of experience with the Fox .35's. I can say with certainty that you could run into some minor problems. I will also add if you can JB weld some brake tubing to the side of the case and leave it flush with the exhaust stack I would go that route. I rough the case up with a Dremel tool and clean it with acetone or thinner prior to using the JB. You can easily clean residual JB weld with standard isopropyl alcohol and a Q-tip if it gets on unwanted surfaces. If this type of fix is unpleasing to you and another case is the option you need to check certain fitments. Crankcases can sometimes vary in nose length and when the prop is tightened down the prop driver can bind on the nose of the case. I experienced this more than once with using newer 50-60th cases when switching my 40th series over to them. Knowing how Fox tolerances can be, I can see similar issues.