News:

• May 18, 2024, 01:13:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Engine Governors  (Read 492 times)

Offline david beazley

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Engine Governors
« on: October 17, 2010, 10:04:53 AM »
OK, I am new to CL, still in ground avoidance stage, but am looking to get in to PA.  I attended my first contest last month as a helper to another newby.  I am beginning to learn enough to ask questions.  I found out at the contest the value and desire to maintain the same airspeed in all phases of the flight, uphill, downhill, upwind, downwind.  I have heard electric flyers are using RC heli speed controlers with idle up feature to do just that.  Has anyone tried this with a glow engine and RC carb hooked up to a flap hanging out in the airstream like a Briggs Stratton engine has a governor that operates the carb based on airflow off the engine fan?  Just curious.
It's only paranoia if they aren't really after you.
Analog man trapped in a digital world
AMA # 2817

Offline Jim Thomerson

• Admiral
Re: Engine Governors
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 11:49:15 AM »
There is another thread on this.  The general opinion is that carb control is too slow to meet the needs.  The right prop can do a lot about keeping engine speed steady.  You probably noticed that none of the IC engine guys thought they had a problem. 

Offline Douglas Ames

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2010, 03:59:45 PM »