News:

• May 07, 2024, 09:57:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: clunk Tank, Combat Streak  (Read 911 times)

Offline Allen Eshleman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
clunk Tank, Combat Streak
« on: March 19, 2007, 09:23:52 AM »
I have an old "Combat Streak" which I am rebuilding.  It had the engine area broken off.  I now have a tank compartment and I bought a stunt tank exactly like the one which I took out of the old tank compartment.  It was a wedge tank with the out feed line coming out of the top of the tank.  I could use this new tank.  It apparently worked before.

However,  I also have a 4 oz. clunk tank which I used on a Tutor II and Super Tigre 51.  It wasn't big enough for that application.  It would fit in this tank compartment.  However, it is rectangular in shape.  On the Tutor II the wider dimension was vertical against the side of the fuselage.  On the combat streak the tank would be laying flat and the clunk end would have to go out to outside extremity of the tank in a flat position.

Question #1  Would this work well?            In some ways I like these tanks better than metal ones.

I'm aware that I will have to change the orientation of the breathing tube inside so it is turned up to fit the new configuration.

Question #2   If I use the tank like the original,  how do I orient the needle valve venturi in relation to the tank for a good run?   Does it need to be level with the back corner of the tank where the out flow orients from or with the brass tube where it comes out of the top of the tank.

I'm planning to use a McCoy 35.

Thanks for you help.

Allen Eshleman

Offline Bill Little

• Admiral
  • Second in COMMAND
Re: clunk Tank, Combat Streak
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2007, 02:35:20 AM »