News:

• April 26, 2024, 06:00:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 40FP cuts out suddenly  (Read 1546 times)

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
40FP cuts out suddenly
« on: July 12, 2018, 09:09:20 PM »
I'm looking for suggestions to look for.

I have a 40FP on a Ringmaster, throttled for NW Sport 40 Carrier.  It'll go like gangbusters for two or three laps, then suddenly die.  It doesn't seem to matter what throttle setting it's at, from full to extra slow (but not hanging) flight.  It doesn't seem to matter if I'm launching just a bit off full lean scream or quite rich.

The glow plug appears good, but I haven't tried replacing it (yet).  The clunk is clunking.  I can fly, restart without refueling, and it'll go for 2-3 laps then die just the same.  The plane is landing with fuel in the feed tube, and at one point it quit in the ground with fuel in the feed tube.

When it cuts out it goes straight from full on to stopped -- no lean scream, no rich blubbering, no misfires; it just stops.

I'm mystified -- anyone have any suggestions?
AMA 64232

The problem with electric is that once you get the smoke generator and sound system installed, the plane is too heavy.

Offline Dave Hull

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: 40FP cuts out suddenly
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2018, 11:12:17 PM »
Tim,

A couple of thoughts--mostly questions:

Will it run on the ground continuously or does it have the same problem? (Would tend to rule out plug issues if no problems. I'd still check to see if the element is distorted.)

Did you run it on the ground with the outboard wingtip down about 20 degrees down? Still runs continuously? This would get the fuel head about right, and move the clunk to a flight-like position.