News:

• May 05, 2024, 10:57:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Combat Special props  (Read 1292 times)

Dwayne

• Trade Count: (0)
Combat Special props
« on: October 28, 2009, 10:37:13 AM »
I have an old Fox Mk 4 combat special I'd like to use again, I used to use Tipan or Rev Up props, what are good props now, is APC ok?
Thanks
« Last Edit: October 28, 2009, 11:06:29 AM by Dwayne Donnelly »

Offline phil c

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Combat Special props
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2009, 11:00:46 AM »
APC's are generally OK.  If it is an iron piston engine use the competition props, which have more, longer glass in them for strength. The extra vibration from the piston can fatigue the plastic.  With an ABC motor their sport props work fine.  Nothing is wrong with wood props either, if you can find a reasonable size.  the Top Flite  9/5 or 9/6 Power Point should work.  Master Airscrew makes some decent wood props too, 9/4 to 9/6
phil Cartier

Dwayne

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2009, 11:04:33 AM »
Thanks Phil that's all I needed to know.

Offline Brad LaPointe

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2009, 05:19:17 PM »
8x6 Taipan works well.The cuff on the back of the prop made setting the needle a challange.9x6 black Masterairscrew cut down to 8 1/4 worked well .These props are much more rugged than APC's .

Brad

Dwayne

« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2009, 06:32:52 PM »
8x6 Taipan works well.The cuff on the back of the prop made setting the needle a challange.9x6 black Masterairscrew cut down to 8 1/4 worked well .These props are much more rugged than APC's .

Brad

I did'nt know Taipan still made props if so where do I get them? Also I use a remote needle and I would never use a black Masterairscrew on a .36 combat engine.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2009, 07:06:15 PM by Dwayne Donnelly »

Offline Brad LaPointe

• 24 supporter
  • Commander
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2009, 07:47:45 AM »