News:

• May 10, 2024, 09:12:50 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Advice needed  (Read 2681 times)

Joe Just

• Trade Count: (0)
Advice needed
« on: December 23, 2012, 09:53:00 AM »
OK, after having a Brodak "Tigercat" kit sitting in my office for over 2 years, I have decided to take the plunge and build the darn thing.  I have had some experience in the past few years with twin engine planes, but never with a Carrier twin.  I recently bought 2 NIB Thunder Tiger 18's for use in this plane.  What I need are some ideas, problems, suggestions etc on building and flying this plane.  I am open to any suggestion except '" Forget it!" HELP!!!
Joe

Offline don Burke

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
Re: Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, 10:08:49 AM »
I seem to remember that the Carrier rules require all engines to remain running.  Might be a problem.  Could also be a faulty memory!
Ted Kraver has a lot of experience with twin engine stuff.
don Burke AMA 843
Menifee, CA

Offline john vlna

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2012, 11:58:39 AM »
Joe,
never built the kit, but the ones I have seen come out heavy ( typical Twin problem anyway). I'd look for ways to lighten it, also I've heard the cowls are too thick. OK for scale but violates the carrier fuse thickness spec. It probably would be a better plane with electrics for carrier, but I don't think you will go that way.
John

Offline john e. holliday

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2012, 01:40:36 PM »
I have the Brodak Tigercat hanging on the hook.  Two Fox .15 Schnurles.   Has been flown and as stated the kit builds up heavy.  If I were to do another one, all controls would be external.  Using internal controls I could not get enough throw with mufflers on the Fox's.   JJ hasw even flown the plane.  Guess I should dust it off and fly.
John E. "DOC" Holliday
10421 West 56th Terrace
Shawnee, KANSAS  66203