News:

• June 17, 2024, 08:07:34 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: why use flaps?  (Read 1153 times)

Offline Fred Shattuck

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Ensign
why use flaps?
« on: March 06, 2008, 08:07:55 PM »
I am relatively new to control line, and have a question.  Why use flaps? My modified Ringmaster can do ten loops in the time my Chipmunk can barely execute one.  My scratchbuilt design, same story. No flaps and flies great. I intend to build a Thunderbird and a Smoothie, but if the performance is the same as the Banshee or Chipmunk, I will be afraid to fly them. Both my brother and I have had great results with the Super Tigre 51 in the non-flapped planes, but are not doing something right with the flap-type planes. Can somebody explain the principle of flapping to me? Thanks

Offline Clint Ormosen

• 2019 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: why use flaps?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2008, 09:35:36 PM »
After reading this post and your other one in the open forum, I get that you like to fly real fast. The Chipmunk and Banshee were not designd for that. Those designs were meant to fly the AMA stunt pattern were speed is not really desirable.
 The coupled flaps were designed to give the wing more lift at those slower speeds. With different ratio throws, you can control the rate of turn.
The Smoothie does have flaps, but has a much thinner wing than a Chipmunk. So higher speeds suit it well.
-Clint-

AMA 559593
Finding new and innovated ways to screw up the pattern since 1993

Offline Ray

• Lieutenant
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2008, 11:18:04 PM »
Coupled flaps were added when additional maneuvers were added, and more fuel had to be added as well.  The older spark ignition engines ran on "white" gasoline, which allows far better fuel mileage than methanol does.