News:

• May 04, 2024, 02:40:26 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: FILLETS.......Super-Fil vs AeroPoxy lite  (Read 4219 times)

Offline Greg L Bahrman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
  • Welcome to the Stunt Hanger.
FILLETS.......Super-Fil vs AeroPoxy lite
« on: April 01, 2007, 08:23:51 PM »
I tried them both and really couldn't find much difference as far as application goes. The Super-fil definitely sands easier than the Aeropoxy, that doesn't mean I like it better just a observation. I know that AeroPoxy is not real easy to sand, but knowing that ahead of time you try to put the fillets in so that they need very little sanding which is not real hard to do. The shaping is done while it is wet and pliable. I actually found it a little easier to use the AeroPoxy of course I am used to it. This is my first try with Super-Fil and it really presents no problems either. I think either will work just fine. I think the most important thing with either is patience. The Super-Fil is light blue and the AeroPoxy is a reddish brown, it looks almost pinkish in the picture. I find the Super-Fil sands easier than the AeroPoxy. But for me that really doesn't matter much as I don't plan on sanding very much anyway. IMHO They both are really good. I think talking with someone who has done it is a big help. Tape off the area to be filleted to prevent a mess on the rest of the plane. Also tapping off the area to be filleted is a big help in keeping the fillet width uniform as it acts as a guide for you. I used an ice cream stick to put the material in the corner. Bob Reeves suggested I try a marble glued on the end of a stick. It produced the best fillets I have done especially around the leading edge of the wing. Clean up any excess off your guide tape. Have paper towels and alcohol available before you start. If you not happy with the looks of the fillet after you put it in, just wait a few minutes and then put some alcohol on your finger and you can