News:

• April 27, 2024, 08:38:52 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: BRODAK SILKSPAN  (Read 1065 times)

Offline doug coursey

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
BRODAK SILKSPAN
« on: January 11, 2024, 07:06:33 AM »
HAS ANYBODY HAD ANY LUCK WITH THE BRODAK MEDIUM SILKSPAN..I TRIED SOME AND IT DOESNT STICK TO THE WOOD VERY GOOD EVEN PUTTING AT LEAST 3 COATS OF BUTYRATE DOPE ON THE BARE WOOD.I PUT IT ON WET AND  THE DOPE DOESNT PENETRATE THE SILKSPAN VERY GOOD.IT SEEMS TO SWELL THE SILSPAN AND IT GETS HARD AS A ROCK WITH ONE COAT OF BUTYRATE DOPE...YOU SURE COULDNT USE IT ON OPEN BAYS
« Last Edit: January 11, 2024, 09:50:07 AM by doug coursey »
AMA 21449

Offline Colin McRae

• Captain
  • Are we having fun yet??
Re: BRODAK SILKSPAN
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2024, 09:58:56 AM »
I am by no means an expert, but I have covered 2 models with Brodak medium silkspan with butyrate dope and both have been fine. And I brushed it on. The silkspan has adhered as expected and shrinks up fine.

Being somewhat of a rookie builder, I strictly followed the Brodak document 'Finishing and Painting your Airplane'.

Those instructions say to use a mixture of 60/40 thinner/clear dope (60% thinner). And I put on 3 coats on the wing and let it fully dry before starting to apply the silkspan on the wing.

So not sure what might be going on in your situation. Maybe not enough thinner so it can easily soak thru the silkspan? And I also made sure I painted at a time of day when the ambient humidity was low, so no blushing was going on.

Offline Jim Svitko

• Captain
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2024, 11:37:57 AM »
I have used this medium silkspan for several years.  It appears to be just like the product from years ago.  I use it only to cover bare wood.  On open bays, I will use polyspan or ThermalSpan.

https://easybuiltmodels.com/parts.htm#gsc.tab=0

Online wwwarbird

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Welcome to the Stunt Hanger.