News:

• May 13, 2024, 11:58:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Auto Paint and Clear Coat Questions  (Read 5268 times)

Offline Peter Deane

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
Auto Paint and Clear Coat Questions
« on: August 25, 2006, 03:20:28 PM »
Hi all

Hoping you can help me out here - I'm a novice w.r.t autopaint, clearcoat and what works, what doesnt.

I want to use a clear coat (not butyrate clear) on my current project (a Bob Hunt Saturn, piped Magnum 36 power)

I like the repairability of all-dope finishes but have had problems with fuel attacking the finish (10% nitro seems marginally ok but 15% always seems to attack the finish)

So Im looking at a dope finish with clearcote for my current project -

Which is the best clearcote to use  - are they all actually fuelproof?

Also, are there any compatibility/thinner issues to worry about ? And how about toxicity worries? ( e.g. acrylic vs eurathane). Wearing a mask seems obvious but any other precautions required?

Lastly where can you buy this stuff?? Any special spraygun or application techniques required??

Apologies for the dumb questions but I havent had much luck with my google searches. Thanks in advance for any help

Peter Deane

Offline Bill Little

• Admiral
  • Second in COMMAND
Re: Auto Paint and Clear Coat Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2006, 07:28:56 PM »
HI Peter,

I have used Dupont Chromaclear two part clear for quite a while. (8 or more years)
It has withstood the fuel just fine!  The clears do not appear to attack the dope at all.  An d dope does not appear to attack the clears.  Dope will eat up the Dupont Chromabase basecoat colors, though.

The urethane clears are a mechanical bond versus the chemical bond of dope.  Therefore, you have to make really sure the surface is very clean and free of any oils or contaminantrs.