News:

• May 14, 2024, 03:15:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: want to repair tutor  (Read 671 times)

Offline ron young

• 2014 Supporters
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
want to repair tutor
« on: October 18, 2011, 05:37:53 PM »
   Hi all a while back a bought a used tuter dont know if it is a tuter 11? or not .I am new to hobby but have the bug to try and fix this plane it wont be perfect but i think it will suit my flying skill ok.When it crashed it cracked/broke fuselageat the back of ply doublers and broke the wing in the center the very center rib and the one next toward the lines also top balsa sheeting in that areaim not sure i can reconstruct this rib accuratly i cut the wing in two to remove from fuselage,te.and le. are broke i wonderd if anyone would be interested in trying to offer some detailed thoughts on how to repair this is there full size rib details out there or am i out of line asking anyway seems like it is fixable it hardly even touched the monocote also because no lines are square meaning te,le being slanted not sure how to get all true and back together.Again just asking for some thoughts on this project i am not a very experienced flyer so it doesnt have to be perfect
Thanks
Ron
ps sorry cant do pictures

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: want to repair tutor
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2011, 05:56:01 PM »
Pictures would have been nice.

You can trace the next out ribs and use that as a guide to making your center rib.  You'll have to "fudge" it bigger..  It doesn't have to be perfect.

You may be able to just glue the fuselage back together, or to glue it together with splints across the weak spots.