News:

• May 09, 2024, 03:26:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Adjustable Elevator Horns  (Read 1583 times)

Offline Stan Tyler

• AMA Member
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
Adjustable Elevator Horns
« on: June 05, 2007, 02:30:13 PM »
I've never used adjustable elevator horns before and I'd like to know if it's best to use only a hatch on one side for access to the elevator horn for adjustment or if a hatch on both sides works better.

I'm planning on using Tom Morris ball link flap and elevator horns with the elevator being adjustable with the slider nut. All of this is going into Chizler for classic at VSC next year.

Thanks,
Stan
Stan Tyler
AMA 3239

Online Crist Rigotti

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
  • Electric - The future of Old Time Stunt
Re: Adjustable Elevator Horns
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2007, 03:13:31 PM »
If you use the slider nut, then all you need is the hatch on one side.
Crist
AMA 482497
Waxahachie, TX
Electric - The Future of Old Time Stunt

Offline Bill Little

• Admiral
  • Second in COMMAND
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2007, 06:52:21 PM »
For just a slider elevator horn (not using an adjustable pushrod) I cut a vertical slot in line with the horn about 1/8th" to 3/16" wide and 1/2" tall.  The socket head driver will fit in no problem.
Big Bear <><

Aberdeen, NC

James Hylton Motorsports/NASCAR/ARCA

AMA 95351 (got one of my old numbers back! ;D )

Trying to get by

Offline Bill Little

• Admiral
  • Second in COMMAND
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2007, 08:32:18 AM »
Tom sells horns with the vertical slot already cut into them. He also has the sliders sold separately.  I have one on my Cavalier profile. Works like a charm. H^^

I cut the slot in the fuselage side to access the Morris slider horn once it's installed and the plane is finished.  Maybe I was confusing with what I said.  ???
Big Bear <><

Aberdeen, NC

Trying to get by

Offline Stan Tyler

• AMA Member
  • Lieutenant