News:

• April 30, 2024, 06:32:33 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: TD vs Medallion  (Read 4727 times)

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
TD vs Medallion
« on: November 04, 2008, 12:28:21 PM »
I been around for a long time but I am just beginning to look seriously at 1/2 A.  What is the difference between a Cox TD and a Medallion.  I see red cases and black cases.  Are they basically the same and all of the parts interchange.  I have a black case rotary shaft Cox with a Black Widow jug. I also have the bottom end of a red case rotary shaft Cox that I plan to put a product engine jug on. I have a LH crank comming. Will it work in both?  Everything seems to mixes and match so what's the dif in a TD and a Medallion and how can you tell them apart?  ???  ???  n~

PS I was just looking on ebay at a Medallion .049.   It appeared to have a molded in venture.  My two have screw in venture.  Is this the differance?  If so why is one of mine black and one red?
« Last Edit: November 04, 2008, 12:47:26 PM by John Rist »
John Rist
AMA 56277

Offline Bill Adair

• 21 supporter
  • Captain
  • AMA 182626
Re: TD vs Medallion
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 12:44:00 PM »
Quickest way to tell them apart is the needle valve location. The needle valve on a Medallion goes through the side of the venturi like most c/l engines, while the needle on the TD goes into a housing around the venturi, and is alongside the venturi tube.

There are other differences such as cylinder/piston assy, glow head, crankshaft, and carb housing.

The red or black carb housing was usually used to identify the .049 from the .051 TD, black being .049.

Bill
Not a flyer (age related), but still love the hobby!

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 12:51:22 PM »