News:

• April 27, 2024, 01:53:04 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Ringmaster motor mount  (Read 1574 times)

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Ringmaster motor mount
« on: June 16, 2007, 09:29:44 PM »
I have a Baby Ringmaster kit but the motor mount and landing gear are missing. Does anyone have a motor mount from a deceases Ringmaster? I can spin my own but an original would be nice.  I plan to run a TD .o51 with a tank mount. SO it will mount like a Bee #^
John Rist
AMA 56277

Offline Andrew Hathaway

• Captain
Re: Ringmaster motor mount
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2007, 10:38:01 PM »
The kit nylon T-mount really isn't worth the trouble.  Anything resembling a rough landing will completely fold the landing gear wire back, and it's pretty easy to break the entire nose off.  Build the front end up like a Skyray or similar with a 1/8" ply or 1/4" ply firewall and 1/2 balsa supports, it'll be much more durable.  If you need a landing gear, I'd recommend bending a new gear from 1/16" wire and install it the same as most profiles thru the wing cutout.  The nylon mount lasted one flight on the Baby Ringmaster I learned to fly on. 

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2007, 01:53:35 PM »
The kit nylon T-mount really isn't worth the trouble.  Anything resembling a rough landing will completely fold the landing gear wire back, and it's pretty easy to break the entire nose off.  Build the front end up like a Skyray or similar with a 1/8" ply or 1/4" ply firewall and 1/2 balsa supports, it'll be much more durable.  If you need a landing gear, I'd recommend bending a new gear from 1/16" wire and install it the same as most profiles thru the wing cutout.  The nylon mount lasted one flight on the Baby Ringmaster I learned to fly on. 

Wow!