News:

• May 22, 2024, 08:25:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: finishing tips  (Read 1347 times)

Offline philip metzner

• chevyiron420
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
finishing tips
« on: December 20, 2009, 10:12:03 PM »
  Guy's, what little i knew about finishing a model is ancient history, slow, and expensive. I am interested in any info on finishing that is better, faster, cheaper, with commonly available paints and materials. For example, i have heard that spray lacquer primers can be used instead of my old way of mixing powder with clear and brushing and sanding for ever. There arent many hobby shops around here, and i aint got any money anyway.
   Reading here on the 1\2a forum has stirred my interest. I have a stuntmaster 23that has been hanging here for years and all it needs is painting. I have a blackwidow thats ready to install, and i just found all the control parts. #^

Offline George

• Admiral
  • Love people, Use things.
Re: finishing tips
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 06:00:59 AM »
Philip,

Better, faster, and cheaper are not necessarily found in the same product.

I still like dope for finishing, mostly Brodak, some SIG.

Some have used polyurethanes with success. Some polyu's are fuel proof, some are not. Try it first.

Others like rustoleum. Stay away from clear and metalics, not fuel proof. Cheap but takes a week or do to dry completely.

For top-end finishes some use automotive finishes. I have not tried these.

Since I use mostly dope, I'll hope someone chimes in who uses the other methods.

George
George Bain
AMA 23454

Offline Robert McHam

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 07:26:23 AM »
This is an important stage you are at considering the performance of the model.