News:

• April 27, 2024, 12:31:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: easier to start Cox reed-valve with 10% or 25% nitro?  (Read 1390 times)

Offline Leonard Duke

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New Pilot
easier to start Cox reed-valve with 10% or 25% nitro?
« on: July 12, 2023, 03:14:21 AM »
I have very little experience with glow engines.
In the July issue of Model Aviation magazine, p. 80, there is an article about glow plugs saying that fuel with less methanol needs a colder glow plug. Some of the statements in the article made me suspect that an engine would start easier with more methanol (less nitro). Am I on the wrong track here? I've got fifteen old cox engines, hoping to come up with a couple that run good for some planes I bought from a friend.

Which fuel would be better for starting? 10% or 25% nitro?

Another question: does fuel go stale?  I know that gasoline does, but how about glow fuel?

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline spare_parts

• Lieutenant
Re: easier to start Cox reed-valve with 10% or 25% nitro?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2023, 09:51:44 AM »
You wouldn't notice a difference in starting between 10-25%, you are still talking a majority methanol. I think the article left a lot out, but oh well. In some applications people run >60% nitromethane and still manage to light it off.

Look for bright and shiny elements in the glow heads, not dull white or mangled. Also, choose piston/cylinder sets which hold compression best. Weak compression and bad glow heads will be a far bigger problem for Cox than percentage of nitromethane in the fuel.

Glow fuel can become problematic if it absorbs moisture. It will do so simply be not being sealed properly (pressure tight) between uses. Properly stored, it keeps well. Castor can precipitate flakes over time and must be filtered.
Greg

Offline Motorman

• Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2023, 12:20:39 PM »