News:

• April 27, 2024, 05:22:44 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Doculam: This covering material has many uses and is cost friendly  (Read 5393 times)

Offline Robert McHam

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
First let me explain I am not an expert on this stuff but I will try to get you started in the right direction.
This film has more than one use. Besides using as a covering material it can also beused as a see-thru protector of your plans. Lay out your plans and lay a sheet of Doculam over it and start building!

Advantages of Doculam:

Low cost per Sq ft.

Light weight! about one third of opaque iron on coverings
Simply irons on like the other major coverings
You can paint it on either side
Use crayons on the underside for decorating it if you want
Use sharpies as well
It is fuelproof
For flat scale finishes paint it on the outside
I believe you can use a printer to print graphics on the adhesive side. This has been tried with limited success so far.

Here are some of sources:
http://www.laminatorwarehouse.com/laminating_film.shtml

http://www.schooloutfitters.com/catalog/product_info/cPath/CAT154_CAT161/pfam_id/PFAM949/products_id/PRO130

http://www.usi-laminate.com/store/wpbec_listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?Level1=6&Level2=30

Now for some links to other theads with lots of info to share:

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2859

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=274520

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4561567/anchors_4585155/mpage_1/key_doculam/anchor/tm.htm#4585155

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_4577137/anchors_4580388/mpage_1/key_doculam/anchor/tm.htm#4580388

Here is a link to a covering comparison chart:
http://lee.org/flying/tips/

Robert
Crop circles are simply open invitations to fly C/L!

Offline dave siegler

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
  • sport flier
    • Circlemasters Flying club
Re: Doculam: This covering material has many uses and is cost friendly