News:

• April 30, 2024, 04:24:04 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 1/2A flying lines  (Read 976 times)

Offline Bootlegger

• 22 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
1/2A flying lines
« on: April 27, 2020, 08:50:40 AM »

Has anyone used the lines used for fishing on a 1/A model to fly with, and if so what size did you use and how well did they work?  Thanks
8th Air Force Veteran
Gil Causey
AMA# 6964

Online Robert Zambelli

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: 1/2A flying lines
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2020, 09:38:22 AM »
Hi, Gil
I'm asking myself the same question.
Rusty Knowlton uses them with good results.
He's on the site somewhere.

Bob Z.

Offline Mark Mc

• 24 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2020, 10:48:24 AM »
I've been using Spectra for the last 7 years.  I use 20# test mostly, as the local Fisherman's Warehouse didn't have 10# in the yellow high-viz spool.  I sometimes use 10# if I don't care that the line is green instead of yellow.  10# is more than enough for the 5-7 ounce 1/2A planes I normally fly.  If going with one of the heavier 1/2A planes, I'd stick with 20# test, although that's overkill.

Mark

Offline Wayne Collier

• Captain
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2020, 11:10:58 AM »
For 1/2a I’ve used braided fishing line exclusively for several years. Very flexible. No stretch. Way more steady than Dacron. I use braided spider wire. 20# test. It is the same diameter as 6# monofilament. I do not recommend monofilament. Tried it, didn’t like it. There are several good brands to choose from. I think most people look for one that specifically says spectra on the package.