News:

• June 05, 2024, 08:23:15 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 1/2 A Combat  (Read 1280 times)

Offline John Tomlin

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
1/2 A Combat
« on: July 27, 2011, 10:16:58 AM »
I have a dilemma with a combat ship.  It won't do outside manuvers.  Inside are fine.  2 figure 8's last night almost resulted in ground strikes (I'm talking hand over my head, standing on tip toes and full down) and then I went high and tried an outside loop and it practically dove straight in.  It never tucked from vertical.  Balance is on the leading edge and slightly nose heavy (no fuel).  25 or so degrees elevator up and down.  Black widow on 36 foot .008 lines.  Only damage to the plane was a cracked elevator.  Had the same problem with a Little Satan but it didn't fair as well.

Thanks,

John   

Offline LARRY RICE

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
Re: 1/2 A Combat
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 11:27:53 AM »
Right off the balance needs to be further back on the wing.  Measure the with (chord) of the wing and divide by three - that is the furthest back the balance can go, stay slightly ahead of that point. 
Without seeing the model in action it is hard to tell what else may be wrong. You may want to brace the push rod a lessen the up travel ... but again you may not and I would need to be there ... airlane tickets?

Larry

Offline Larry Renger

• 21 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2011, 12:20:50 PM »
Things that can cause your problem, in addition to Mr. Rice's pushrod suggestion, are thrustline misadjustments and bellcrank not being straight fore and aft when the elevator is in neutral.  Handle adjustment should be dead vertical when the elevator is in neutral, too.
Think S.M.A.L.L. y'all and, it's all good, CL, FF and RC!

DesignMan
 BTW, Dracula Sucks!  A closed mouth gathers no feet!

Offline minnesotamodeler

• 2014 Supporters
  • Admiral
  • Me and my Chief Engineer
    • Minnesotamodeler