News:

• March 28, 2024, 03:44:21 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: The ultimate stunt machine?  (Read 23294 times)

Offline Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Re: The ultimate stunt machine?
« Reply #50 on: May 28, 2013, 02:38:23 PM »
Its a lot like asking who the most beautiful woman is.

Except in stunt you won't get in trouble posting the scores. 
The Jive Combat Team
Making combat and stunt great again

Offline david w bahm

• New Pilot
« Reply #51 on: July 09, 2013, 09:06:15 AM »
I am no stunt expert by any means and if I flew in competition you'd have to tunnel to find out where I finished when the scores were tallied. But in spite of all that I will say in being obsessed with the 5 ft radius corner the rest of my pattern (what I can fly of it) suffers accordingly. Every airplane I set up to try to fly the corner to the letter of the rule book wound up being too much to handle as to control input. I had one ship which would practically pivot on the end of the lines but once the turn was established it was to quick to stop. This resulted in many powered inverted landings and much subsequent damage. The model would also not track reliably in level flight and I was constantly "getting behind the airplane" in normal flight regime. Made for some pretty wild rides. While alot of it was attributed to both a far aft CG (in order to achieve the rule book 5 ft radius) and my less than expert flying skills, once the CG was brought back to a range within bounds to where it could be controlled, the turn radius did open but a much more definitive and consistent pattern was achieved. I think Keith's point is right on the money as the term tight allows a little leeway for the pilot to establish a flow to his/her pattern that lends itself to the flight parameters of the equipment resulting in a more consistent pattern that flows together. Kinda like a figure skating routine if you will.

Offline Brett Buck

• Admiral