News:

• April 28, 2024, 10:21:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Trim tab vice control tab aerodynamics.  (Read 1849 times)

Offline Hoss Cain

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Trim tab vice control tab aerodynamics.
« on: May 14, 2012, 04:18:40 PM »
 ???  Been a long time since I studied any aerodynamics. So here is one for the engineers' (injun -ears I used to call them {my older son is one} )

If I have a  "trim tab" on an aero-machine's non-powered control surface, such tab would serve as a "control tab" in that it will serve to fly the control surface in a direction opposite to the normal direction of a pilot's deflection by manual control. If some up-aileron on the right is needed, the trim tab will be deflected down to pressure the aileron up thus obtaining the desired trim. Likewise the elevator trim tab will deflect down to fly the elevator up for nose-up trim and vice versa.

In a powered control situation, not a slab, but conventional stab-elevator like our stunters, the "trim tab'' usually flies "up" to provide up and vice versa. Should power fail and the machine reverts to cable then the "Trim-Tab" now reverts to the control-tab function.
That is normal for non-slab operations of sub-sonic flying machines.

So here is my question:  My new stunter will have about 5" of fixed aileron/flap on the right wing outboard. I plan to have an adjustable trim tab. Will that tab operate in the powered control function -- such as if down,  will it try to fly the outboard wing up as the normal set-up, OR will it tend to work as a CONTROL TAB and when down and  actually fly the wing down as if the wing was an one giant aileron just slightly deflected up by a trim tab?

Remember that this is flying within sub-sonic convergent airflow using basic flight control principles.  ???
I will probably find out for certain late next week!   ~^
Horrace Cain
AMA L-93 CD and Leader
New Caney, TX  (NE Houston area)

Offline Howard Rush