News:

• March 28, 2024, 01:38:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: The best stunt airfoil  (Read 28211 times)

Offline Frank Wadle

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Lieutenant
The best stunt airfoil
« on: February 06, 2018, 06:43:16 AM »
Hello,

Just recently I came across some pictures a russian F2B pilot posted on facebook. He is currently building prototypes of a new F2B contest airplane, fully take-apart, all build in molds.
On the pictures you can see that he is using a rather unconventional airfoil. It is a Wortmann FX-71-L-150/K25 and the flaps are integrated into the airfoil.
This started a discussion between some friends of mine and myself if this is a good choice.

And this discussion rose the question what exactly is the "best" airfoil for Stunt airplanes?
What exactly makes an airfoil suitable (or unsuitable) for stunt?

I'm not an expert but know about drag coefficient, lift coefficient and moment coefficient curves, but how do these curves have to look like in order to make it a good stunt airfoil?
And how should these curves look like to make it "the ideal" airfoil?

Best regards from Germany
Frank Wadle
« Last Edit: February 06, 2018, 07:02:18 AM by Frank Wadle »

Online Gerald Arana

• 23 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: The best stunt airfoil
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 09:54:49 AM »
That looks like a very good airfoil to me.(But I'm NO expert) HB~>

Of course the side of my shoe (Shoeman) looks good too!  LL~ LL~ LL~

Jerry

PS: I like those apple cheek cowls!

PPS: AFAIC, there is NO "Best" airfoil. All airfoils are good in one respect and not so good in another, i. e., it'll go fast and not turn or it'll turn and not go fast. That's my experience in glider racing. (Slope Soaring)

Offline Howard Rush

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 12:01:20 PM »