News:

• March 28, 2024, 01:06:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Sheet wing stunter  (Read 3770 times)

Offline rob biddle

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Commander
Sheet wing stunter
« on: November 30, 2006, 02:50:44 AM »
  Hi folks,
 I recently got a copy of a plan that I had been eyeing off for a few years.

It's for the "Stunt- wind", a 46" span sheet wing profile model for a .19- .25 engine.
(published in AMI, 2001)

According to the designer it can fly at around the "middle" advanced level with the right pilot and good trim. ;D

I'm seriously thinking about "slapping" one together after I finish my RSM T-bird (in final paint stages now.)

After having crashed my best flyer (which was just about worn out) I haven't had any serious flying for a few months and as a result have gotten fairly rusty. HB~>

I reckon one of these things could probably be framed up in 2-3 nights with out too much trouble and with a rough and ready paint job could be ready to fly inside a week or so.

Could be a cheap and easy way to practise some low bottoms without risking a large time or cash investment. ;D

There was a fair bit of sheet wing stunter development out here about 15 or so years back which resulted in the "Mini Nobler" and the "Mini Bandolero". Both .15 - .21 size models. Apparently they both fly reasonably well though I haven't seen them.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone has any experience with a "sheet winger" and knows of any traits that I may expect or need to trim for.

If not, then I guess that it will be a case of just "suck it and see". **)

Could be a fun little experiment. <=

Cheers, Rob.
Robert Biddle

Offline Terry Fancher

• AMA Member
  • New Pilot
Re: Sheet wing stunter
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2006, 08:25:12 AM »
Rob,