News:

• March 29, 2024, 12:18:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Changing My Favorite Plane  (Read 3548 times)

Offline Brian Massey

• 2016 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
    • California Car Clubs
Changing My Favorite Plane
« on: June 14, 2017, 02:35:37 PM »
I've been a fan of Tom Warden's Trophy Trainer since my Whittier Narrows days way back when. To date I've built a half dozen or so. But since getting back into C/L a few years back, I've wanted to try a few changes. Since I have no background in engineering, or design, I'm here.

Here's some of the changes I'm considering:

1/ I want to give the wing some sweep, probably by increasing the chord of the wing at the fuse by 1/2 to 3/4 inch.

2/ Increase the area of the stab & elevator to more modern numbers.

Question: While increasing the chord of the center rib(s), would there be in benefit or negative issues raised by also proportionally increasing the thickness of the rib, and tapering to the original thickness at the tip?

As for the tail surfaces, I've read DF's article on "Details" and will probably go with what his research showed worked best.

Am I stupid for wanting to mess with a proven good design?

Thanks for any advice/input you feel worthwhile for me to consider.

Brian
While flying the pattern, my incompetence always exceeds my expectations.

AMA 55421
Madera, CA

Offline Tim Wescott

• 2016 supporter
  • Admiral
Re: Changing My Favorite Plane
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2017, 04:46:21 PM »
First, just to get it out of the way: we're all stupid for not taking up golf.  So it doesn't matter whether what you're trying to do is "stupid" in someone else's eyes -- if you like it, go for it.