News:

• March 28, 2024, 07:03:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Almost finished with it, my stunt Biplane  (Read 24902 times)

Offline Chris Wilson

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
Re: Almost finished with it, my stunt Biplane
« Reply #50 on: January 13, 2011, 03:33:01 PM »
Chris, your idea of increasing thickness on one wing only sounds funny. Maybe some experts should take a look at this experiment. For this old lazy guy here this is not a suitable solution : I fabricate ALL ribs for both wings in one stack !!
Regards,  Claus

If as John says "the top wing (is) more efficient than the lower wing" and therefore producing more lift then it makes sense to modify the lower wing to try and regain its lost efficiency, no?

I believe that Al Rabe used asymmetric airfoils due to his scale looking models needing more lift in one flight orientation than the other and it could be the same here.

I am no expert on this but just an avid observer though!
MAAA AUS 73427

You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.
 Nothing in life is so exhilarating as to be shot at without result.  It's not enough that we do our best; sometimes we have to do what's required

Offline Air Ministry .

• Admiral
« Reply #51 on: January 19, 2011, 08:30:12 PM »
Now what would happen if it was a (horizontally) split monoplane wing ?

i.e. Top half of wing top , bottom half of wing bottom .Parrallel surfaces between (Gap).

Its normal for (full Size) bi-planes to run 'longitudeinal' diheadral.(an iota + incidance top wing)
Probably the pressure / channeling effect between wings infuanceing airflow & efficancy.
Anyone know if Pitts and other full size aerobatic things run ' 0 - 0 ' on the incidance / thrustline. ?

Al Rabe states in one of his Articals , that it was in the CENTRE SECTION that he used assymetric
airfoil .A Hurricane I did useing this had some intresting unexpected benifitts resulting from less