News:

• May 01, 2024, 08:05:02 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Bellcrank Question  (Read 1571 times)

Offline Dennis Saydak

• 23 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain
Bellcrank Question
« on: December 02, 2019, 01:04:25 PM »
Guys, I have a brand new 2-line D-speed bell crank that I want to use in a new construction project. I suspect there is a problem with it because the bell crank is virtually frozen onto the center brass bushing. Is this normal with a button crank or is mine defective? I've never used one before.
Just when you think you're getting ahead in the rat race.....you find the rats just get faster! MAAC 13120L

Offline bob whitney

• Admiral
Re: Bellcrank Question
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2019, 02:41:35 PM »
yes the bell crank should be free moving on the brass bushing..soak the bell crank in some type of solvent( carb cleaner ) let it sit for a while .tap the bushing out .take 400 sand paper and sand bushing and bell crank till clean and a slide fit  ,a little oil and u should be good to go
rad racer

Offline Dennis Saydak

• 23 supporter
  • Captain
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2019, 04:44:14 PM »
Thanks Bob. The busing has a flange on both sides so I'd have to drill it out to remove it. It doesn't look to me like a regular bell crank bushing that is installed from one side. I wanted to build a Kansas Twister (have the kit) last winter but postponed the project because I didn't have a suitable bell crank. I don't really want to order another bell crank as the US$ exchange rate plus shipping etc. really adds up quickly.
Just when you think you're getting ahead in the rat race.....you find the rats just get faster! MAAC 13120L

Offline bob whitney

• Admiral
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2019, 07:56:05 PM »