News:

• April 27, 2024, 09:32:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: OS MAX 55AX ?  (Read 627 times)

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Admiral
OS MAX 55AX ?
« on: March 28, 2010, 07:36:48 AM »
Has anyone had any experience with the OS MAX 55AX in a scale ship?  Per the specifications it appears to be a barn burner for it's size.  Question:  Does it idle well and have a good mid range?  Because it's an OS Max I am guessing it is all good.  But what say you?

???  ???  ???      D>K   D>K   D>K
John Rist
AMA 56277

Offline Clancy Arnold

• Admiral
  • I am 5 Ft. 8 In., the Taube is 7 Ft. 4 In.
Re: OS MAX 55AX ?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 11:18:30 AM »
John
I have no direct experience but looking at the OS data I have it should be useable.

Size wise it is the same as the OS 40 & 46 FX, 46 AX and 50 SX.  All are BB engines so will be an ounce or two heaver than comparable displacement plain bearing engines.

It was introduced in 2006 so it is a "New" engine. 

Clancy

Clancy Arnold
Indianapolis, IN   AMA 12560 LM-S
U/Tronics Control
U/Control with electronics added.

Offline Chris McMillin

• 22 supporter
  • Admiral
  • AMA 32529
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2010, 01:14:41 PM »
Hi John,
I bought one for my current model under construction and haven't run it yet. However, I have been flying a new ship with the OS 46 AX and have about one gallon through it. After the first run it would idle so low that I can make the model sit still while I walk to the pilot station. It's a Kaos on old Dubros with brass tube bushings so it rolls well and quietly, no brakes, and on pavement. It idles really slowly!
I have not turned the low speed at all since i first ran the engine. I would assume that the 55 will perform the same way. I sure hpe it does as it's in my next Kaos.
Chris...

Offline John Rist

• 24 supporter
  • Admiral
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2010, 01:19:28 PM »
John